Ark of the Holocene

Blog

First Blog Post

Bruh I truly just rambled here, I should probably delete that.

First Blog Post

Ugh, holy crap, it is very difficult to implement all the ideas I have in the form I want them in one moment. Basically, I just have to recognize that things will take time to look good and be organized and be poignant and thought-out as I wish them to be... I'm just scrawling a bunch of flow-of-consciousness stuff across vague categories that all have related meanings and stuff anyways.

Part of me feels like it would be best to just sprawl out all of my ideas here, and then slowly pick them apart and give them the location they deserve. I think that will be one thing the blog is used for in the future... just reflections that will then be implemented in their respective parts.

As of today, I will not be focusing especially on the aesthetic of the website (though I do have ideas for that -- especially an audiovisual experience which mimics the outdoor environment of the user's local area at that specific time). At this moment, I'm focused on laying down the rails; creating the rough organizational structure and pages which will then be filled-in with quality, thought-provoking content.

As I've mentioned, I do hope for the tone of this website to be inspiring and open-ended. I want people to be able to explore curiosities and stumble upon things that interest them. I want people to feel capable, like they have agency in their hands, and like working with nature can be FUN and COOL and REJUVINATING and feel good.

Additionally, I don't know all the answers yet. This is also, especially, a resource for me to organize what I learn. To keep track of my direction and focus.

That being said, the following resources need a home:

  • Paul Stamets Appreciation Page

    - Mycelium Running book (in a reading list... somwehere...)

    - Youtube links:

    - 1.

  • Micrcoscopy

    - Journey to the Microcosmos

    - Let's Scope it Out

    - Observing one's own ecosystem (that jar I had of pondwater)

  • Things one can do at home (includes microscopy...)

    - Horticulture

    - Mycology

    - Fermentation

    - Ecosystems

    - Shelters (buggo shelters)

Ugh, at this point, I'm just making a list of the list I already have in my notes...

Anways, whatever I can do to stop the sudden panic attacks when I truly comprehend the scale of human influence on the world...

As long as I can meaningfully add to the health of the world, I'll feel better.

Gotta feel lightweight, less heavy (yuh)

Gotta feel less like I'm unsteady (yuh)

Whittle the axe, understand what I have in my position

Sharpen the spear tip that leads to the world that I am wishing

would be the norm, while it's taking its form

with the mass that prefers to massacre the animals

ugh whatever, just cuz it rhymes and has rhythm doesn't mean it's a good poem... still fun to freestyle though...

Like, 99% of people don't like death or killing, and have never actually killed anything, because our specialized culture leaves the killing to a select group of people who just kill all the TIME so a regular folk never has to worry about that or feel the result of their choises firsthand, they can just live in a world where meat doesn't require death and a different person spends 9-5 monday through friday killing shit all day! Is this... the ideal form of collective human organization???

Lots of reasons. Lots of reasons I'm depressed. Lot's of reasons that I'm sitting at my desk blasting Kill Dyll while I still decline the doctor's offer for a Chill Pill.